Belgian Cup
FIFA Region


The 2021-2022 Belgian Cup (BELCUP1) is the most prestigious football club tournament in Belgium. The 2021-2022 BELCUP1 is a "Knockout" tournament. In the 1st-3rd Rounds, a penalty shoot-out is held after regulation time. In the 4th Round, 5th Round, 6th Round, Round of 32, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, and Final, if a match is still tied after regulation time, two 15-minute extra time periods are played. If still tied after extra time, a penalty shoot-out is held. In the Semifinals, teams play a Home-Away highest aggregate goals wins format. If teams are tied after the 2nd leg, the "Away Goals Wins" rule applies. If still tied, the teams play two 15-minute extra time periods, then a penalty shoot-out (if necessary). The winner of the 2021-2022 BELCUP1 receives a berth in the Playoff Round of the 2022-2023 UEFA Europa League (UEFAEL). Genk (BEL1) is the defending BELCUP1 champion.

More Info...

Leagues Pyramid - Belgium

Abbrev League # Teams
BEL1 Jupiler Pro League
(Belgian First Division A)
BEL2 Proximus League
(Belgian First Division B)
BEL3 Belgian First Amatuer Division 16
BEL4 Belgian 2nd Amateur Division 48
BEL5 Belgian 3rd Amateur Division -

Competition Structure

Stage# TeamsNew Teams Entering This RoundTeams From Previous RoundFormat
Preliminary Round66 teams from Belgian Provincial LeaguesNone3 Knockout matches
1st Round220154 teams from Belgian Provincial Leagues, 63 teams from Belgian Third Amateur Division3 winners from Preliminary Round110 Knockout matches, 1 Bye
2nd Round15848 teams from Belgian 2nd Amateur Division (BEL4)110 winners from 1st Round79 Knockout matches
3rd Round9615 teams from Belgian 1st Amateur Division (BEL3), 2 teams from Belgian First Division B (BEL2)79 winners from 2nd Round48 Knockout matches
4th Round48None48 winners from 3rd Round24 Knockout matches
5th Round322 teams from Belgian First Division A (BEL1), 6 teams from Belgian First Division B (BEL2)24 winners from 2nd Round16 Knockout matches
Round of 323216 teams from Belgian First Division A (BEL1)16 winners from Round of 6416 Knockout matches
Round of 1616None16 winners from Round of 328 Knockout matches
Quarterfinals8None8 winners from Round of 164 Knockout matches
Semifinals4None4 winners from Quarterfinals2 Knockout matches
Final2None2 winners from Semifinals1 Knockout match played at a neutral site


DateHome Status RoadVenue
Mon - 18 Apr 2022
 KAA Gent (BEL1) 00 Anderlecht (BEL1)King Baudouin Stadium
 KAA Gent wins on PKs (4-3) 


DateHome Status RoadVenue
AggregateKAA Gent (BEL1) 31 Club Brugge (BEL1) 
02.02.22KAA Gent 01 Club BruggeGhelamco Arena
02.03.22Club Brugge 03 KAA GentJan Breydelstadion
AggregateKAS Eupen (BEL1) 35 Anderlecht (BEL1) 
03.02.22KAS Eupen 22 AnderlechtKehrwegstadion
03.03.22Anderlecht 31 KAS EupenLotto Park


DateHome Status RoadVenue
Wed - 22 Dec 2021
 KV Mechelen (BEL1) 13 KAS Eupen (BEL1)AFAS-stadion Achter de Kazerne
 KAA Gent (BEL1) 31 Standard Liège (BEL1)Ghelamco Arena
Thu - 23 Dec 2021
 Anderlecht (BEL1) 30 KV Kortrijk (BEL1)Lotto Park
 Club Brugge (BEL1) 41 Oud-Heverlee Leuven (BEL1)Jan Breydelstadion

Round of 16

DateHome Status RoadVenue
Tue - 30 Nov 2021
 RFC Seraing (BEL1) 33 Anderlecht (BEL1)Stade du Pairay
 Anderlecht advances on PKs (4-3) 
Wed - 1 Dec 2021
 KAS Eupen (BEL1) 32 SV Zulte Waregem (BEL1)Kehrwegstadion
 KVC Westerlo (BEL2) 23 Oud-Heverlee Leuven (BEL1)Het Kuipje
 Lommel United (BEL2) 02 KAA Gent (BEL1)Soevereinstadion
 KV Kortrijk (BEL1) 10 KV Oostende (BEL1)Guldensporen Stadion
 KV Mechelen (BEL1) 21 Cercle Brugge KSV (BEL1)AFAS-stadion Achter de Kazerne
 Genk (BEL1) 33 Club Brugge (BEL1)Cegeka Arena
 Club Brugge advances on PKs (5-3) 
Thu - 2 Dec 2021
 Standard Liège (BEL1) 20 KFCO Beerschot-Wilrijk (BEL2)Stade Maurice Dufrasne

Round of 32

DateHome Status RoadVenue
Tue - 26 Oct 2021
 KV Oostende (BEL1) 81 CS Onhaye (BEL5)Diaz Arena
 RWDM (BEL2) 12 SV Zulte Waregem (BEL1)Edmond Machtens Stadion
 KV Mechelen (BEL1) 21 RU Saint-Gilloise (BEL1)AFAS-stadion Achter de Kazerne
 R Mouscron-Péruwelz (BEL2) 01 Standard Liège (BEL1)Stade Le Canonnier
Wed - 27 Oct 2021
 KAA Gent (BEL1) 40 Belisia Bilzen SV (BEL4)Ghelamco Arena
 KVC Sint-Eloois-Winkel Sport (BEL3) 06 Genk (BEL1)Sportpark Terschueren
 Dender Eendracht Hekelgem (BEL3) 01 KAS Eupen (BEL1)Van Roystadion
 RFC Seraing (BEL1) 32 Sint-Truiden VV (BEL1)Stade du Pairay
 R Charleroi SC (BEL1) 00 Lommel United (BEL2)Stade du Pays de Charleroi
 Lommel United advances on PKs (4-3) 
 Royal Knokke FC (BEL3) 11 KV Kortrijk (BEL1)Stadion Olivier (Knokke-Heist)
 KV Kortrijk advances on PKs (2-1) 
 Francs Borains (BEL3) 04 KFCO Beerschot-Wilrijk (BEL2)Stade Robert Urbain
 RAAL La Louvière (BEL4) 17 Anderlecht (BEL1)Stade Communal du Tivoli
 Lierse Kempenzonen (BEL2) 12 Oud-Heverlee Leuven (BEL1)Herman Vanderpoortenstadion
 Club Brugge (BEL1) 30 KMSK Deinze (BEL2)Jan Breydelstadion
Thu - 28 Oct 2021
 Cercle Brugge KSV (BEL1) 30 KVK Tienen (BEL3)Jan Breydelstadion
 KVC Westerlo (BEL2) 21 Royal Antwerp FC (BEL1)Het Kuipje